Students with headteacher

Governing Body

Parents wishing to send a letter to the Chair of Governors should write to Mrs K Bell c/o The Clerk to the Governors, Copthorne Prep School – marking the envelope ‘Private & Confidential’ if necessary.

Kathryn Bell – Chairman of the Governors

Kathryn Graduated from Exeter University with a BSc Hons degree in Biology and Geography and a PGCE. She is a chartered biologist and a Member of the Royal Society of Biologists. She has taught for over thirty years in both boarding and day schools, single sex and co-educational, and independent and state maintained schools She is an ex Head of Burgess Hill Girls. Kathryn is a Committee member of the Society of Heads, a member of the Society of Heads’ Education Committee and a member of the GSA Education Committee. She is passionate about the Performing and Creative Arts as well as Sport and Outdoor Education. Sadly her competitive netball days are over but still enjoys the occasional umpiring and coaching opportunity and encouraging from the sidelines. She is widowed with four children, three of whom are at university, with the fourth recently graduated, but soon to recommence further study!

Aileen Baker – Chair of the Marketing Committee

Aileen graduated from the University of Glasgow with an MA Honours degree in Sociology and Management. Moving to London in 1998, Aileen has spent the last 19 years working as a Planner / brand strategist for some of London’s top Advertising Agencies. She is now a director at an independent agency in Farringdon. Aileen is kept busy by her two boys Arun and Alexander who are both loving life at Copthorne.

Hasmita Kerai

Hasmita is a Chartered Chemical Engineer. She started her career at Black & Veatch in the water process industry and in 2001 she specialised in Health & Safety. Hasmita provides project Health and Safety advisory services to both internal and external clients, identifying hazards at an early stage in design. She is married to Dipak and has two children who attended a local independent school and are now thoroughly enjoying studying at university.

Robin Workman – Chair of the Estates Committee

Attended Copthorne Prep in the 1960’s before going on to Kings School, Canterbury. A partner in a firm of Chartered Quantity Surveyors based in Caterham, Surrey. Blessed with two offspring – James who left Copthorne in 2013 and attends Milton Abbey, Dorset. Emily who left Copthorne in 2016 and attends Priors Field School, Godalming.

Breege Jinks

Breege graduated from the University of Wales with a Joint Honours degree in Mathematics and Economics, followed by a period of Postgraduate Research in Econometrics.  Breege’s Mathematics teaching career commenced in 1982 and evolved into a lifelong passion for School Improvement; ensuring that schools provide a nurturing environment where each child has access to the best possible education.    Her Continuing Professional Development included a Diploma in the Management of Mathematics Teaching, an MA in School Improvement and School Effectiveness (Sussex University) and the National Professional Qualification for Head teachers (National College of School Leadership). The last 14 years of her career was spent transforming Teaching and Learning at Seaford College as Deputy Head, a role which enabled her to continue teaching mathematics to Oxbridge Level; a subject that still holds an enduring fascination for her, especially the challenges of teaching this difficult subject. Part of her role as Deputy Head involved sharing her expertise with a variety of schools including Copthorne Prep School. Breege has particular professional experience in using the increasing range of Prior Attainment and Ability data to intervene appropriately to raise each child’s attainment.  She retired in August 2018 after 38 years working full time, as a mathematics teacher and  in a variety of Senior Management roles in both the Maintained and Independent sector and she is now an Educational Consultant.  Seaford College has retained Breege’s expertise working part-time on a variety of Pupil Attainment Projects.  Breege is married with a  grown up son and daughter and is looking forward to supporting the exciting future of Copthorne Prep School as a member of the Board of Governors.

Where next...

Enquire Now

Enquire Now

We are expanding to GCSE!

Parents have told us they need a quality senior school alternative, so from September 2021, pupils already at Copthorne or joining in Year 7 will be able to stay with us to Year 11. Our first GCSE exams will take place in 2026. 

Join us at our next Virtual Open Morning or read about our expansion to find out more.